Johnson & Goldrich, PC
Driver’s License Reinstatement

Learn more

What Are Illinois DUI First Offense Penalties?

Published on September 15th, 2022

Red lights on a police vehicle making a DUI arrest at night.

If you’ve been arrested for a DUI in Illinois, you’re probably wondering what the penalties will be. This blog post will explain everything you need to know about the Illinois DUI first offense penalties.

Remember that each case is unique, and the consequences of a DUI conviction can vary depending on your specific situation. This is why it’s so important to have an experienced DUI attorney on your side.

Keep reading to learn about the DUI penalties for a first-time offense in Illinois.

What Is the Penalty for a First-Time DUI in Illinois?

You could face several different types of penalties if convicted of a DUI charge. These include a driver’s license suspension, fines, and jail time, court supervision, community service, and substance use treatment.

Court Supervision: You may be placed on court supervision for up to two years. This penalty ensures you will not have a criminal record if you complete the terms of your supervision.

Driver’s License Suspension: Your driver’s license may be suspended. The length of your driver’s license suspension will depend on your blood alcohol content (BAC) at the time of your arrest.

Fines and Fees: You may be required to pay fines and fees totaling up to $2,500.

Community Service: You may be required to perform 30-100 hours of community service.

Jail Time: Your sentence may be up to one year in length. However, this is typically reserved for cases with aggravating factors.

Drug and Alcohol Treatment: You may be required to participate in a drug and alcohol treatment program.

The specific penalties you will face if convicted of DUI in Illinois depend on several factors. These include your BAC when arrested, whether you caused an accident, and whether any injuries occurred during the accident. In addition, you can expect more severe penalties if you have any prior DUI convictions.

If arrested for a DUI in Illinois, it is crucial to contact an experienced DUI attorney as soon as possible. An attorney can help you understand the charges against you and the potential penalties you face. An attorney can also help you build a strong defense and protect your rights throughout the legal process.

Is a DUI a Felony in Illinois?

A first-time DUI is typically charged as a misdemeanor in Illinois. However, there are some circumstances in which it can be charged as a felony. These circumstances include:

  • If this is your third offense
  • If you were going 30 mph or more over the speed limit
  • If you were driving on a suspended or revoked license
  • If you had a passenger under the age of 16 in your vehicle
  • If you were operating a school bus or commercial vehicle with at least one minor aboard
  • If you caused an accident that resulted in severe injuries or death

You will face more severe penalties if charged with a felony DUI. These can include a longer driver’s license suspension, higher fines, and more jail time.

Remember that each case is unique, and the penalties for a DUI in Illinois can vary depending on the specific circumstances of your case. Regardless of if you’re a first time DUI offender or not, you may receive a breath alcohol ignition interlock device, revoked driving privileges, and multiple weeks or days in jail after a conviction.

Contact Johnson & Goldrich, P.C. for Driver’s License Reinstatement

Suppose your driver’s license has been suspended after driving under the influence. When this happens, Johnson & Goldrich, P.C. is here to help you get your life back on track.

Our DUI lawyers have helped many clients with DUI cases reinstate their driver’s licenses after an arrest or conviction. We can help you understand your rights and will fight to protect your best interests at every step.

Our knowledgeable attorneys understand Illinois DUI laws. We know how to build a strong defense in your case for your license reinstatement.

Contact our office today at (312) 795-1801 to schedule a consultation with one of our experienced driver’s license reinstatement attorneys or complete the online form.

Back to News

Stop worrying and give us a call or text us at 312.795.1801 or submit the form below.